NATIONAL COUNTIES T20 round two round-up

NCCA-Logo MasterOxfordshire made it three straight National Counties T20 wins when they beat Wales NC by 34 runs in the first match at Wormsley but surrendered their unbeaten record when they were beaten by eight wickets in the second game of the day. 

Marcus Campopiano’s half century gave Oxfordshire the edge in the opener before Wales struggled against tight bowling and were dismissed for 98 with Harvey Jupp taking three for 16. 

Tom Bevan’s half century saw Wales to a target of 118 with 28 balls to spare in the second match. 

Wiltshire bounced back from two defeats by Dorset last week to win both matches against Herefordshire at the South Wilts club in Salisbury. 

There were useful runs at the top of the order from Warwickshire left-arm wrist spinner Jake Lintott who made 38 in the first match and 22 in the second as Wiltshire won by six wickets then seven wickets. 

Wiltshire captain Ed Young’s 41 not out in an unbroken fourth wicket partnership of  78 with Neil Clark saw them home with 25 balls to spare in the second game. 

Devon’s acting captain Calum Haggett produced an inspired all-round performance to clinch a thrilling one run win over Cornwall in the first match of the day at Werrington. 

The former Somerset and Kent all-rounder top-scored with 36 in Devon’s 150 for five and then took four for 20 – including three wickets in ten balls – before Alex Bone was run out off the last ball. 

Haggett took the key wicket of former Warwickshire and Leicestershire batsman Ateeq Javid, who made 55 from 47 balls. 

Javid shone with bat and ball in the second game, taking three for 27 then making 60 to lay the platform for a victory with three balls to spare. 

National Counties T20 

Group One 

South Northumberland CC: Cumbria 185-3 (Michael Slack 87 not out, Sam Dutton 55). Northumberland 152-5 (John Oswell 51). Cumbria won by 33 runs. Cumbria 122-8 (Michael Slack 43, Matthew Oswell 3-14), Northumberland  117-7 (Stuart Poynter 67 not out). Cumbria won by five runs. 

Whitchurch: Shropshire 109-9 (Sam Wisniewski 3-22), Staffordshire 113-5. Staffordshire won by five wickets. Shropshire 145-4 (Andre Bradford 87 not out), Staffordshire 131-7 (Riki Wessels 58, Charlie Walker 4-21, Martin Bole 3-16). Shropshire won by 14 runs. 

Group Two 

Werrington: Devon 150-5, Cornwall 149-8 (Ateeq Javed 55). Devon won by one run. Devon 148-8 (James Horler 50, Ateeq Javed 3-27), Cornwall 149-7 (Ateeq Javid 60). Cornwall won by three wickets. 

South Wilts CC: Herefordshire 153-6 (Zain ul Hassan 47), Wiltshire 155-4. Wiltshire won by six wickets. Herefordshire 131-8 (Arthur Godsal 3-21), Wiltshire 132-3 (Ed Young 41 not out). Wiltshire won by seven wickets. 

Group Three 

Haileybury School: Hertfordshire 149-4 (Robin Das 51, Reece Hussain 49 not out, Ryan  Findlay 3-19). Norfolk 108-8 (Sam Arthurton 53, Ben Wareing 3-15). Hertfordshire won by 41 runs. Hertfordshire 114-8 (Ryan Findlay 4-13, Andy Hanby 3-19), Norfolk 118-4 (Sam Arthurton 71). Norfolk won by six wickets. 

Ipswich School: Lincolnshire 128-9, Suffolk 129-1 (Ben Claydon 102 not out). Suffolk won by nine wickets. Lincolnshire 185-4 (Joe Kendall 82, Ben Wright 41 not out), Suffolk 174-9 (Ben Parker 47, James Dobson 4-18). Lincolnshire won by 11 runs. 

Group Four 

Dunstable: Buckinghamshire 147-8 (Michael Wells 69), Bedfordshire 150-2 (Gus Miller 82 not out, Kashif Ali 41). Bedfordshire won by eight wickets. Buckinghamshire 171-6 (Ed Bragg 56 not out, Alexei Kervezee 43), Bedfordshire 174-3 (Kashif Ali 72 not out, James Kettleborough 54). Bedfordshire won by seven wickets. 

Wormsley: Oxfordshire 132-7 (Marcus Campopiano 51, Sam Pearce 3-29), Wales NC 98 (Harvey Jupp 3-16). Oxfordshire won by 34 runs. Oxfordshire 117-6, Wales NC 120-2 (Tom Bevan 64). Wales NC won by eight wickets. 

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok